Enough

by thoughtsatlarge

Malala Yousufzai was shot in the head Tuesday by the Taliban in Pakistan while riding her school bus home for defending the rights of girls to go to school.  She is 14 years old. In a CNN interview she said, “I have the right of education. I have the right to play.  I have the right to sing. I have the right to talk.  I have the right to go to market. I have the right to speak up.” The Taliban “leadership” met several months ago and agreed to have her killed for speaking out.  If she recovers, they have vowed to murder her. To murder her for claiming the right to an education; the right to play!  UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon summed it up nicely when he said, “The terrorists showed what frightens them most: a girl with a book.”

Malala Yousufzai, age 14

And lest you think this affront to girls is limited to the backwater, mentally-stunted, religious drones of the Taliban, or in the sickening stories of 8-year-old girls being married off to men in Afghanistan, think again.

Amanda Todd killed herself yesterday.  She was 15 years old.  People claim that she was the victim of bullying, but that is far too easy.  The young Canadian girl was destroyed by a society that has no issue eating its own.  Please read her story here: http://www.cnn.com/2012/10/12/world/americas/canada-teen-bullying/index.html?hpt=hp_c1.  I dare you not to cry.

Amanda Todd, age 15

Yesterday was the first International Day of the Girl Child as proclaimed by the United Nations.  Celebrations were held and speeches were made, yet we ignore the fact that girls like Malala and Amanda pay the price for a society hell-bent on continuing to acquiesce to the “morality” of the most depraved among us at the cost of our children and our future.  We continue to embrace their practices as “cultural differences” instead of recognizing them as the barbaric edicts of the wrong and the antithesis of the cultured.  Amanda is gone and Malala clings to life with a bull’s-eye on her recovery.  I love my daughter, my wife, my mother and my sister.  I am a man, but a man in the family of mankind, neither its ruler nor entitled, just a man.   To subject girls to anything less than what I aspire to is just wrong and the face of evil on earth.

